Today I went on a Road Trip

Image

My father, his mother, and his sister all drove up from their So-Cal origins to pick me up for my spring break back home. Although taking a flight is a lot easier and faster, I always try and find an excuse to drive down and back up for holidays during the school year. 

I ended up only really packing one pair of pants, a skirt, and a couple tops and the rest was photography or painting supplies. They had driven up in a small hybrid car to save gas, so I felt like I had to take up as little room as possible, so I just skimped on clothes. I have a lot of clothes down at my parent’s house, but they’re all sort of dorky high school event tees that I was too embarrassed to bring to uni.

On the way home, we visited my grandma’s boyfriend of 30-something years in the hospital, because he has been having a few mental hallucinations. My dad says it’s Sundown Syndrome and we don’t really know much else, but he seemed really fine to me, although a little paranoid. He kept thinking the other residents were trying to steal his things, and when I hugged him to leave he asked me if I saw the explosion in the sky outside his window. I looked and was really confused, and my grandma yelled at him in her usual way that he was seeing things, and I left with a sad feeling in my stomach. It doesn’t bother me so much that he sees things, but that they are so violent and frightening. He is a veteran and used to be a security guard in the hospital where he met my grandmother, so he has already seen his share of violence and I just…

I don’t know what to do in these situations, where I can’t help and I am just taking up space in a hospital room.

The rest of the drive home was uneventful, and I am now home, sharing the couch with my mother because we missed each other so much to sleep just yet. 

 

Also, sorry about the image quality in this one. I only brought my netbook down for this break, so posts will probably look more like this, or just be words.

Leave a Reply

